Who Are The 15 Republican Senators Who Voted For The Guns Bill? And why?

Fifteen Republicans voted late Thursday to pass gun safety legislation, the first of its kind in three decades.

Ten Republicans were part of the first bill negotiations in May, after mass shootings in Buffalo, New York and Uvalde, Texas pressure lawmakers to come together on legislation.

The bill, known as the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act, includes billions of dollars in funding for mental health services and school security. It also focuses on the “friend loophole”which allows dating partners to possess guns after being convicted of domestic violence, contrary to the federal law against spouses. The bill also provides grants to states to adopt “red flag” lawsallowing courts to remove firearms from weapons deemed a threat to themselves or others.

Senate votes to pass Safer Communities Act.

Senate votes to pass Safer Communities Act.

sen. Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., Expressed: its provisional support of the measure last week and voted in favor of the bill on Thursday.

Only two of the 15 Senate Republicans who voted in favor will be re-elected this year: Lisa Murkowski of Alaska and Todd Young of Indiana.

Four of the senators will leave office this year: Senators Rob Portman of Ohio, Roy Blunt of Missouri, Richard M. Burr of North Carolina and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

The rest of Republican senators won’t be up for re-election until 2026, with the exception of Utah’s Mitt Romney, whose election is in 2024.

The bill now goes to the House of Representatives; if passed, it will be sent to President Joe Biden for signature. Biden already has expressed his support for the account.

White House: Biden wants gun action even if he doesn’t get everything he asked for

More: Congress could approve Senate arms deal, but a bigger, tricky standoff is unlikely to shift

The 15 Republicans were:

  • Minority leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.

  • sen. John Cornyn, R-Texas

  • sen. Thom Tillis, RN.C.

  • sen. Roy Blunt, R-Mo.

  • sen. Richard Burr, RN.C.

  • sen. Bill Cassidy, R-La.

  • sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine

  • sen. Lindsey Graham, RS.C.

  • sen. Rob Portman, R-Ohio

  • sen. Mitt Romney, R-Utah

  • sen. Pat Toomey, R-Pa.

  • sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa

  • sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska

  • sen. Todd Young, R-Ind.

  • sen. Shelly Moore Capito, RW.Va.

The bill had bipartisan support and enough votes to vote from the start, as 10 of these senators were part of the initial negotiations on the bill and gave their support.

Many of the Republicans who voted for the bill have an A or A plus rating from the National Rifle Association.

Some Republicans who voted in favour, including Capito and Murkowski, were uncertain beforehand procedural votes held this week. The two had not expressed support for the bipartisan framework announced in May, saying they would need to review the legal text before making a decision.

Murkowski is up for re-election this year in Alaska, a state with some of the loosest gun laws in the country. In a video she tweeted Wednesday, Murkowski said she wanted to see Congressional efforts to protect children in schools while acting in good faith to protect the rights of “proud gun owners” in Alaska.

Senators who did not vote for the bill have expressed doubts about gun ownership controls, such as “red flag” laws and the “boyfriend loophole.”

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: 15 senators vote for bipartisan gun law after Uvalde

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.